The house begins to smell like the pollen of thousands of flowers.

As an artist, I have recently been working with encaustic.  Over the holidays I was  lovingly gifted an enormous amount of beeswax.  Needless to say I swooned as I opened the box containing 15 pounds of this magical stuff.  Prices have been going up with the sad plight of the bees.  So this gift was incredible.  I couldn’t help but all to often stoop down to marvel, sniff and pet this huge block of magic.  But yesterday…the time had come to begin the process of re-working it so I could start painting.  It has been too long.

This is stage one — melting it down and putting it into more easily dealt with bricks.  The next step will be adding the necessary ingredients…. damar varnish crystals and of course, pigments.  Encaustic is no fast art.  It’s quite like meditation.  Everything slows down.  The house begins to smell like the pollen of thousands of flowers.  There is nothing like it in the world.  I am convinced of this.



To see some of my recent encaustic work go here

4 comments on “The house begins to smell like the pollen of thousands of flowers.

  1. mobius faith says:

    Your description paints a very magical description of this art. I can almost smell it here. I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  2. Marissa says:

    Thank you for inspiring me to write in my blog again! Finally, a blog post after all this time. I love your blog, it’s beautiful and I love getting to know you better through your writing.
    Loves!!

  3. […] The house begins to smell like the pollen of thousands of flowers. (wildapplause.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookTumblrPinterestMoreEmailPrintStumbleUponDiggLinkedInRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

